I’m sew overdue

I sew as a hobby,  sixth scale mostly (Barbie size) (R)  she is the perfect model.  I love Haute Couture fashions and creating them is affordable when it only requires scraps of fabric.  Ahh expensive fabric for little money.

Lately i’ve been dreaming of doing a lifesize collection, picking an era gone by and bringing it into the 21st century.  My first thought was wow thats a lot of fabric, my second? I dont know anything about pattern making.  So……..

after years of wanting a professional dress form, I finally took the plunge and bought one.  Now you ask, what does that have to do with pattern making? well, drapping on a form helps a lot in creating patterns.  I called my friend and “Road Trip” was all I had to say. We arranged a day to make our journey to Los Angeles, home of all things fashion.

We must have spent two hours in that store looking at all the different forms, it was very exciting. There were several forms that had been painted, I loved the Marilyn and Audrey posted here.

The trip ended up costing me $376 but I had budgeted $400 and I ended up with two forms, a full size and a half size plus misc supplies, all on sale.

My dream of creating that collection hasnt happened yet but soon!

Leave a Reply

